We buy things we don’t need, with money we don’t have, to impress people we don’t like.

I don’t know about you, but for me it’s a real symptom : Ever noticed how somedays, when you’re feeling down, you go out and buy something, as a kind of reward or present to yourself. And that feeling down can be anything from frustration at your job, frustration with life in general or just about anything else.

I can remember being in Paris and going into town on a Saturday, and regularly buying something that I didn’t need. It made me feel good, it made me feel cool, it made me feel part of the « in-crowd », but I definitely didn’t need it.

Conversely I can remember times, when I wasn’t working as such but doing only exactly what I wanted, what I was interested in, including lots of sport, spending plenty of time with my firends without feeling pressurised because it was the weekend and we didn’t have a lot of time. And at those times, I didn’t go out and buy things I didn’t need.

The thing is « society » as a whole, in the way it works maintains that status quo, because the big guys want you to « buy their shit ». Think about it next time you feel like buying something and ask yourself if you really need it. Because as Tyler Durden puts it in « Fight Club » : we buy things we don’t need, with money we don’t have, to impress people we don’t like ».

And for those that haven’t seen it, here is the reference: Fight Club

PS : Yes I know, I’ve broken the first rule of Fight-Club.

PPS : The first rule about Fight-Club is « You do not talk about Fight-Club ».

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

